Discipline

Can I be honest with you?  I stink at discipline.  I have the best intentions, but the Evil One is quite aware of where I am weak and where the areas of propensity to slip and fall lie.

I watch too much mindless TV.  Eat for recreation.  Find far too many reasons to avoid the gym or running, even though I really enjoy working out.  Spend way to much of my day being driven by my ADD from website to website.  The internet is great but for a kid who’s already having issues keeping focused, it’s…. sorry what was I saying?

Yesterday I was in mid-preach and I read this text to my Faith Family.

But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.
1 Corinthians 9:27

Really Paul – you had to include that last part?!?  Then all of a sudden the room vanished and the only one being preached to was me!  So for the few of you that find and or follow these random musings, I ask of you this…  please hold me accountable.

I want for 2012 to be a year of discipline.  Less TV and more Family.  Less Facebook and more face-time with real actual people.  More nourishment from the Word and less from an establishment with a drive up window.  Less running aimlessly and more running 3-5 miles.  Greater amounts of resting in the Everlasting Arms of Jesus and far less on the arms of the couch.

So… if I were to sum up my resolutions for 2012 they would find their fulfillment in one word – discipline.  Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

