Wealth

2013-09-01 15.28.25

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord,

the fruit of the womb a reward.

Psalm 127:3

 

 

Father, you knew well in your sovereign, good wisdom that I could never handle money.

 

Remove far from me falsehood and lying;

give me neither poverty nor riches;

feed me with the food that is needful for me,

lest I be full and deny you

and say, “Who is the Lord?”

or lest I be poor and steal

and profane the name of my God.

Proverbs 30:8-9

 

So what did you do?   You gave me much greater wealth than monies could ever buy.  You gave to Jamie and I four children.  Two of which are just heartbeats from leaving the nest.   This has been made painfully clear as the beginning of college is at hand.

Caleb my first treasure – he is gold, sometimes hard and cold at first touch but then as he warms, becoming malleable and glorious in the brilliance of the luster God placed upon him.  Though he can become easily stained by the hurries and worries of his age – with encouragement and sleep, he shines brightly again.  He is the standard of the currency of his daddy’s heart.

Lydia is my ruby.  My redhead is more precious than any of the other gems.  She shines brightly in the light of the Son and every time you think you’ve seen all of her beauty (inside and out) the light refracts in a new way and you are awed again.

Katie and Darren are still in refining and cutting stages.  We’ll just have to wait and see just what the Master Jeweler makes of them.

Image

God you have given us these jewels, as caretakers but for a short time.  There have been seasons when we did not cherish them to their full worth, but Lord you have made us rich through them, beyond measure and for that we thank You!  We would much prefer this fortune to anything the world sees as wealth.  Jesus thanks for pursuing and winning Caleb and Lydia please do so with Katie and Darren as well.

 

Leave a Reply

